Municipal Area

The Greater Tzaneen Municipality comprises a land area of approximately 3240 kmĀ², and extends from Haenertsburg in the west, to Rubbervale in the east (85km), and just south of Modjadjiskloof in the north, to Trichardtsdal in the south (47km). The Greater Tzaneen Municipality area encompasses the proclaimed towns of Tzaneen, Nkowankowa, Lenyenye, Letsitele and Haenertsburg. It is comprised of 34 wards and there are 125 rural villages. Almost 80% of households reside in these rural villages.

The municipal area is further characterized by:
  • extensive and intensive farming activities (commercial timber, cash crops, tropical and citrus fruit production);
  • mountainous, inaccessible terrain in the west and south, and
  • uneven topography (gentle slopes) to the north and east
The area abounds with exceptional natural beauty and considerable untapped tourism potential.

The Phalaborwa SDI transverses the Greater Tzaneen Municipal Area, while one of the major road links between Gauteng and the Kruger National Park also passes through the area.

In addition, a large area of land is in private ownership, ranging from smallholdings to extensive farms, used mainly for commercial farming activities, equally large areas of land is in the ownership of the State, under the custodianship of six Traditional Authorities.